This entry lists the states with Renewable Portfolio Standard (RPS) policies that accept generation located in West Virginia as eligible sources towards their RPS targets or goals. For specific information with regard to eligible technologies or other restrictions which may vary by state, see the RPS policy entries for the individual states, shown below in the Authority listings. Typically energy must be delivered to an in-state utility or Load Serving Entity, and often only a portion of compliance targets may be met by out-of-state generation.
This rule provides guidance to persons occupying a residence or operating a business establishment in this state regarding the approved method of providing proof of proper solid waste disposal to the Division of Environmental Protection.
While this policy alleviates some requirements on low-emitting emission sources, it does not change the policy of requiring applicants to submit reasonable information concerning all potential emission sources. Reasonable information concerning all equipment, emission units, stationary source, processes, etc. that are part of a proposed construction, modification or other permit application shall be required in a complete permit application and shall be reviewed in terms of their state rule and federal regulation applicability.
The Natural Gas Horizontal Well Control Act regulates the construction, alteration, enlargement, abandonment and removal of horizontal wells and associated water and wastewater use and storage. The Act defines a horizontal well as “any well site, other than a coalbed methane well, drilled using a horizontal drilling method, and which disturbs three acres or more of surface, excluding pipelines, gathering lines and roads, or utilizes more than two hundred ten thousand gallons of water in any thirty day period.”
This rule establishes requirements implementing the powers, duties, and responsibilities of State's Water Pollution Control Act with respect to all coal mines, preparation plants and all refuse and waste therefrom in the State.
The Linked Deposit Loan Program is targeted at small, private firms with 50 or fewer employees and gross annual revenues of $5 million or less comes. This loan offered through the West Virginia Development Office, comes with an interest rate of 1 percent above published New York Prime and is up to $250,000. Program Sunsets in 2013.
The West Virginia division of environmental protection shall refrain from proposing or promulgating any new rule intended, in whole or in part, to reduce emissions of greenhouse gases from the residential, commercial, industrial, electric utility or transportation sectors in order to comply with the Kyoto Protocol.
In 2006, West Virginia stakeholders came together to consider net metering, interconnection as required by the Federal Energy Policy Act (2005) and agreed upon a "Statement of Consensus Among Parties," which was presented to and accepted by the West Virginia Public Service Commission (PSC) in December 2006. The consensus agreement did include interconnection guidelines for the state, however, the PSC did not initiate a formal rule-making or incorporate the guidelines into agency rules.
Small, medium and large West Virginia private-for-profit businesses, including but not limited to: Energy, Technology, Aerospace, Automotive, Business Services, Chemicals/Plastics, Metals, Tourist Destinations, Wood Products, Biometrics, Biotech, Food Products, Printing and Warehouse/Distribution are eligible to be reimbursed for expenses incurred when training new employees. Under this program, the West Virginia Development Office can pay up to 100% or $2,000 per trainee, whichever is less, of training cost of new employees in companies creating at least ten jobs in a one-year period.