Salem Electric residential customers with electric water heating are eligible for a $600 rebate through Salem's Bright Way program. A program brochure with details is available on the program website. In order to receive the rebate, all guidelines and terms must be followed.
Salem Electric offers a rebate to residential customers who install solar photovoltaic (PV) systems. Customers have the option of receiving a rebate or a [http://dsireusa.org/incentives/incentive.cfm?Incentive_Code=OR84F&re=1&ee=1 loan]; customers cannot take advantage of both incentive programs. The rebate offered is $600 per kilowatt (kW) for the first three kW and $300/kW for any additional capacity, up to a cap of 50% of project costs.
Salem Electric residential customers participating in the Bright Way Solar or Photovoltaic programs are eligible for a loan with a 5% interest rate from a local bank. Customers must choose between the loan or the rebate programs. Loan amounts are limited to $7,500. The loan term is 12 to 60 months, and there is a minimum payment of $25 each month. Solar water heating systems must meet the requirements of the BPA Bright Way to Heat Water program. Solar photovoltaic (PV) systems must meet equipment requirements established by the Oregon Department of Energy.
Homeowners, renters and third-party owners who pay Oregon income taxes are eligible for the Residential Energy Tax Credit if they purchase premium-efficiency heating systems, duct systems, premium efficiency biomass combustion devices, closed-loop geothermal space or water heating systems, solar water and space heating systems, photovoltaic systems, wind systems and fuel cells. Third-party owned systems are eligible for the tax credit, though specific requirements detailed in the administrative rules must be met.
Energy Trust of Oregon offers rebates for Energy Star refrigerators, freezers and clothes washers to Oregon residential electric service customers of Portland General Electric (PGE) and Pacific Power and to Oregon residential natural gas service customers of NW Natural and Cascade Natural Gas.
Oregon law states that any change in real market value to property due to the installation of a qualifying renewable energy system is exempt from assessment of the property’s value for property tax purposes. Qualifying renewables include solar, geothermal, wind, water, fuel cell or methane gas systems used to heat, cool or generate electricity. This exemption is intended for end users and only applies to systems that are net metered or primarily intended to offset on-site electricity use.
Oregon requires trade licenses for people installing solar energy equipment, and contractor licenses for the companies that do construction.
Companies with an electrical contractor license may engage in the business of making electrical installations. Similarly a plumbing contractor license allows a company to engage in the business of making plumbing installations. Companies must also meet licensing and bonding requirements of the Construction Contractors Board.